Around 1743, the library paid £20 for this dictionary which links Latin, English, and Irish (Gaelic). It had been started by the Revd Francis Walsh of Dublin and was completed by Tadhg Ó Neachtain (c.1670 – c.1752), a well-known Irish scholar of his day who based himself in Dublin and became a focus for the study of Irish there in the eighteenth century.
It is now available to view on Irish Script on Screen (ISOS) as a digital resource at this URL.
We are grateful to ISOS for digitising and making accessible our unique Irish manuscripts. This project is ongoing and we plan to showcase other manuscripts as it progresses.