Governors and Guardians


The 1707 Act which established the Library provided for the structure and membership of a board of trustees which (with some modifications during the eighteenth century and after Independence in 1922) remains in place to this day. Under the Act, the trustees are a number of individuals who serve as a result of their positions in the spheres of the law, learning and religion. In 2021 they are:

The Church of Ireland Archbishop of Dublin, The Most Revd Dr Michael Jackson (Chair)

The Archbishop of Armagh, The Most Reverend Francis John McDowell

The Dean of Christ Church, Very Revd Dermot Dunne

The Dean of St. Patrick’s, Very Revd William Morton

The Chief Justice, Mr Justice Frank Clarke succeeded by Mr Justice Donal O’Donnell from 11 October 2021

The Provost of Trinity College, Dr Patrick Prendergast succeeded by Dr Linda Doyle from 1 August 2021

Under the terms of the 1997 Cultural Institutions Act, the Minister for the Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht can nominate two individuals as trustees of Marsh’s Library. Each of the Minister’s nominees can serve for a maximum of five years, and may be re-nominated for a second term of five years. The current nominees of the Minister are Dr Philip Maddock, a renowned authority on eighteenth-century Irish bookbinding; and Mr David Caird, who brings expertise in finance and administration to the board. Mr Caird served with Marsh Ireland Ltd (Insurance) for 33 years, as CEO from 1991 to 2002, and as Chairman of the Group from 2002 to 2004.

The trustees who serve on the board of Marsh’s Library are known as ‘Governors and Guardians’ in accordance with the original terminology in the 1707 Act.

The Governors and Guardians receive no financial reward or expenses of any kind.


A Registered Charity: RCN 20000752, CHY509
Creative Commons License Governors & Guardians of Marsh's Library